Accessibility in theatre

On the 1st of January, 2009, the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) signed by Germany entered into force. Its aim is to ensure that people with disabilities have an equal right to participation in society’s public life. Article 30 of the convention stipulates accessible participation in cultural life for people with disabilities.

We are still nowhere near making theatre fully accessible for the deaf and the blind. There are only very few theatres making progress in this area, such as the Hans Otto Theater in Potsdam, which has been working with shadow interpreters for years.

We are happy to help improve the right to culture at the theatre, for example with special surtitles for people with impaired hearing and the deaf, sign-language interpreting on stage and audio description. We work with an international network of experts, such as Audioscript, Stagetext, DSGS and many others.

We are also happy to provide you advice about what is possible, what you need and how theatre can be made more accessible to a very interested audience that has unfortunately largely been excluded up until now.

Barrierefreies Theater

Zum 1. Januar 2009 trat in Deutschland die UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention (BRK) über die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderung in Kraft mit dem Ziel, ihre gleichberechtigte Teilhabe und Teilnahme am Leben der Gesellschaft sicherzustellen. Artikel 30 der Konvention verlangt barrierefreie Teilhabe von Menschen mit Behinderung am kulturellen Leben.

Wir sind noch weit davon entfernt, Theater für Gehörlose und Blinde barrierefrei zu machen. Ganz vereinzelnd gibt es Theater, die sich hier hervortun, wie das Hans Otto Theater in Potsdam, die seit Jahren mit Schattendolmetscher:innen arbeiten. 

Wir helfen gerne dabei das Recht auf Kultur am Theater zu verbessern, zum Beispiel durch spezielle Übertitel für Schwerhörige und Gehörlose, Gebärdendolmetschen auf der Bühne und Audiodeskription. Wir arbeiten mit einem internationalen Expert:innen-Netzwerk zusammen, wie beispielsweise Audioscript, Stagetext, DSGS u.a.m.

Wir beraten Sie gerne was möglich ist, was Sie brauchen, wie man das Theater einem sehr interessierten, aber leider bislang häufig ausgeschlossenen Publikum öffnen kann.