Team

Since 2005, SPRACH>SPIEL has specialised in language transfer on and off the stage, whether through the surtitling of productions, interpreting or experimental forms of translation. For years, we’ve been working all over the world for theatres and festivals such as the Schauspielhaus Bochum, the Ruhrtriennale, the Deutsches Theater, the Residenztheater in Munich, the Gorki Theater, the Gogol Center in Moscow, among many others. We are happy to take on the entire planning and project management for language transfer, as we have done at Theater der Welt in Mannheim and Hamburg, in the Münchner Kammerspielen, at the Augenblick Mal Festival, among others.

Dr Yvonne Griesel, born in Geneva, surtitler, translator, interpreter, author and editor. Founder of SPRACH>SPIEL, which is specialised in translating foreign-language productions for festivals and touring productions. She works for many theatres including the Münchner Kammerspiele, the RuhrtriennaleTheater der Welt, the Volksbühne, the Residenztheater in Munich. She translates for publishing houses such as Henschel Schauspiel, Rowohlt Verlag, Alexander Verlag and Theater der Zeit from Russian and French into German. She is also a member of the board of Drama Panorama. She has a diploma in Interpreting in Russian and French and completed a PhD on surtitling in theatre at the Humboldt University Berlin, where she was also a lecturer for seven years. Publications include: Translation im Theater (2000, Peter Lang Verlag), Die Inszenierung als Translat (2007, Frank und Timme Verlag), Welttheater verstehen (2014, Alexander Verlag), Getting Across (ITI Yearbook 2019) as well as many articles in international publications.

Dr Anna Galt is a freelance editor and translator from German into English. Born in Dublin, Ireland, where she studied German, English (BA) and Literary Translation (MPhil) at Trinity College. During her PhD in Theatre Studies, she came to Berlin on a DAAD scholarship in 2008 and was an associate member of the graduate school Interart at the FU Berlin until the completion of her PhD. From 2012-2015, she worked with Aufbruch prison theatre, first as an assistant director then as a dramaturge, and also facilitated writing workshops in juvenile prison. She has been a freelance translator of literature, academic texts, film and theatre, mainly in the area of surtitling since 2007. Since 2012, she has translated the surtitles for a large number of German productions into English, including for the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, the FIND Festival, the Deutsches Theater Berlin, the Thalia Theater Hamburg, the Wiesbaden Biennale, the Berliner Theatertreffen, Theaterformen FestivalAugenblick Mal Festival and Theater der Welt Mannheim. She has translated surtitles for the ongoing repertoire of the Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin, the Deutsche Oper Berlin and currently the Münchner Kammerspiele. Her translation of Hartmut Böhme’s Fetishism and Culture was published by de Gruyter in 2014.     

Kate McNaughton is a writer and translator from German into French and English. 

Professionalism is extremely important to us and we work closely with international colleagues in the area of surtitling and translation, such as Transfiction, Subtext in Zurich, Werkhuis in Brussels and Panthea. We are members of the theatre translation network Drama Panorama and also work with voiceover artists, interpreters and actors.

Team

SPRACH>SPIEL ist seit 2005 spezialisiert auf den Sprachtransfer auf und hinter der Bühne, sei es durch Übertitelungen von Inszenierungen, Dolmetschen oder experimentelle Formen der Übersetzung. Seit Jahren arbeiten wir weltweit für Theater und Festivals, wie das Schauspielhaus Bochum, die Ruhrtriennale, das Deutsche Theater, das Residenztheater in München, das Gorki Theater, das Gogol Center in Moskau u.v.a. Gerne übernehmen wir auch die Gesamtkonzeption und Durchführung des Sprachtransfers, wie beim Theater der Welt in Mannheim und Hamburg, den Münchner Kammerspielen, dem Augenblick Mal Festival u.a.m.

Dr. Yvonne Griesel, geboren in Genf,  Übertitlerin, Übersetzerin, Dolmetscherin, Autorin und Herausgeberin. Sie hat die Firma SPRACH>SPIEL gegründet, die darauf spezialisiert ist, fremdsprachige Inszenierung für Festivals und Gastspiele zu übertragen. Sie arbeitet unter anderem für die Münchner Kammerspiele, die Ruhrtriennale, Theater der Welt, die Volksbühne, das Residenztheater in München u.a.m. Sie übersetzt für Henschel Schauspiel, den Rowohlt Verlag, den Alexander Verlag und Theater der Zeit aus dem Russischen und Französischen. Darüber hinaus ist sie im Vorstand von Drama Panorama. Sie ist Dipl.-Dolmetscherin für Russisch und Französisch und hat zum Thema Übertitelung im Theater an der Humboldt Universität promoviert, wo sie sieben Jahre in der Lehre tätig war. Publikationen: u. a. „Translation im Theater“ (2000, Peter Lang Verlag), „Die Inszenierung als Translat“ (2007, Frank und Timme Verlag). „Welttheater verstehen“ (2014, Alexander Verlag), „Getting Accross“ (Jahrbuch ITI 2019) sowie zahlreiche Artikel in internationalen Fachpublikationen.

Dr. Anna Galt ist freie Dramaturgin und Übersetzerin aus dem Deutschen ins Englische. Geboren in Dublin, Irland, wo sie am Trinity College Germanistik, Anglistik (BA) und literarische Übersetzung (MPhil) studierte. Im Rahmen ihrer theaterwissenschaftlichen Dissertation kam sie 2008 mit einem DAAD Stipendium nach Berlin und war bis zum Abschluss der Doktorarbeit 2011 assoziierte Mitglied des Graduiertenkollegs Interart an der FU Berlin. 2013-2015 arbeitete sie mit Aufbruch Gefängnistheater, zunächst als Regieassistentin und dann als Dramaturgin, und leitete zudem Schreibworkshops in der JSA. Seit 2007 ist sie freie Übersetzerin für Literatur, Wissenschaft, Film und Theater, hauptsächlich im Bereich der Übertitelung. Seit 2012 hat sie die Übertitelung für zahlreiche deutsche Inszenierungen ins Englische übersetzt, u.a. für die Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, das FIND Festival, das Deutsche Theater Berlin, das Thalia Theater Hamburg, die Wiesbaden Biennale, das Berliner Theatertreffen, Theaterformen Festival, Augenblick Mal Festival und Theater der Welt Mannheim. Für das Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin, die Deutsche Oper Berlin und die Münchner Kammerspiele übersetzt sie laufend die Übertitelung des gesamten Repertoires. In 2014 erschien ihre Übersetzung von Hartmut Böhmes Fetishism and Culture bei de Gruyter.

Kate McNaughton, Autorin und Übersetzerin ins Französische und Englische.

Professionalität ist für uns großgeschrieben und wir arbeiten eng zusammen mit internationalen Kolleg:innen aus dem Bereich Übertitelung und Übersetzung, wie z.B. Transfiction, Subtext in Zürich, Werkhuis in Brüssel, Panthea u.a. Wir sind Teil des Übersetzer:innen Netzwerks Drama Panorama und arbeiten auch mit Sprecher:innen, Dolmetscher:innen und Schauspieler:innen zusammen.